The Smoky Mountains

DSCN0213

Day 18: Today we entered the Smokies with rain off and on all day. We got some nice vistas but didn’t get up the fire tower before the showers started. At just under 15 miles my feet are feeling it. We saw these little white flowers everywhere. It looked like the hillside was speckled with snow! A packed shelter tonight since you have to stay in it unless they are full. The poop situation here is pretty dire since there are no privies. I shouldn’t have had so much chili in town! We heard there were some bears sighted the day before. It would be neat to see from a distance!

Ground littered with white flowers.

Ground littered with white flowers.

Day 19: We hiked 16.4 miles today! We decided to push on from the previous shelter since this one was only 1.7 further and tomorrow the terrain is supposed to get tougher. Plus, when we saw this one had a privy, we were sold! We got some great views today and more white flowers. The flowers opened up to reveal purple stripes on the petals. Sore feet as usual and I turned my ankle not paying attention, but it seems fine. Hoping for another warm night!

Close-up of the white flower.

Close-up of the white flower.

Day 20: A shorter day today, with lots of views! We climbed Clingman’s Dome, which is the highest point on the AT at 6655 feet. We also passed 200 miles! We are hiking right along the North Carolina/Tennessee border. Nice weather today. We ran into some more trail magic! I had a turkey and cheese sandwich, an orange, some peanut butter crackers and mnm’s. We are so lucky for trail angels! I’m glad we got a second lunch there, because at dinner I never felt full. I need to bring more snacks! I don’t think I slept well in the shelter last night. I am super tired tonight! I can’t wait to get back to our tent. We met a newly wed couple today that is doing a thru-hike for their honeymoon. Very cool!

View from Clingman's Dome.

View from Clingman’s Dome.

Day 21: A short day today. We were hiking along a ridge line, so we would have had great views if it weren’t so cloudy! We did get some views early on, but by mid-morning we were white-walled. Thankfully the rain held off for the most part. We only got hit with passing showers and it was pretty warm out. We got to camp early and ate an early dinner. I regretted that as I was hungry again before bedtime. I didn’t have any extra snacks so I stole a snickers from tomorrows rations since Andrew will be picking us up with snacks. Hopefully I can make it 15 miles on pop tarts, a granola bar and a bagel with chocolate spread. That’s all the food I have left! I need to bring more next time.

Sunrise at Icewater Spring Shelter.

Sunrise at Icewater Spring Shelter.

Day 22: A 15 mile day today and we did it in 7 hours, including breaks! We were cruising. The terrain was pretty easy, with mostly downhills. A beautiful sunny day with a couple of nice views. When we got down to the road, Andrew was waiting with southern BBQ and soda! It was so delicious, I had thirds! Looking forward to our zero at Andrew’s coworkers house. We are very grateful for his hospitality!

Day 23: Zero Day 🙂

Leave a comment